Issue # 13 | March 2014
Perspectives

In this issue

What is Quality Education?

In recent years, the question “What does quality education look like?” has prompted a number of markedly varying responses. Here’s the CTF President’s take on what it should mean. [+]

The Land of the Blind

Huxley’s Brave New World is here; it has been for some time. Citizens are watched, lied to and manipulated. [+]

CTF’s International Program: Teachers’ Action for Learning

The “Unite for Quality Education” campaign launched by Education International resonates for the CTF International Program. “It was like hearing an echo, a deep reverberating call to the work CTF has focused on for over 50 years”. [+]

Taking issue with PISA

In less than two decades the OECD’s Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) has become the widely used proxy for the performance of education systems around the world.  However, there are a number of things we find problematic about PISA in general, and PISA 2012 in particular. [+]

The Canadian Journal for Teacher Research

This newly launched publication invites teacher organizations and teachers to submit articles or ideas on various education topics including those related to multiliteracies . Find out more on submission criteria here www.teacherresearch.ca/submissions/. [+]

When Education and Legislation Meet: Teacher Collective Bargaining in Canada

The neoliberal agenda and the ideology of austerity by governments have put pressure on all public sector unions to restrict their fundamental human rights – collective bargaining. More in this cross-Canada examination of government legislation suppressing teacher bargaining rights. [+]

Sensification… “Why are we doing this, Teacher?”

In previous issues of Perspectives, we introduced three of the four interrelated concepts underlying the definition of pedagogy in French-language schools: CONSCIENTISACTION, DYNAMISATION and ACTUELISATION. In this issue, we discuss the fourth and last concept: SENSIFICATION. [+]

What Have We Got Against Our Grandchildren? (Or children for that matter)
A Challenge to Retired or Close to Retired Teachers

Should they not have the same chance at prosperity we had? Are we so fearful of a taxation system that allowed us to prosper and access the benefits of social welfare state? [+]

Life Online: Canadian students are more connected, more mobile and more social than ever

MediaSmarts conducted a survey of 5,436 studentsto find out more about their online experiences. “Young Canadians in a Wired World – Phase III: Life Online” has also raised many other issues. [+]

Follow CTF on

Share this issue

Events

Resources

Partners

Publication:
Canadian Teachers’ Federation
2490 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 1E1
Tel: 613-232-1505
Fax: 613-232-1886
Toll Free: 1-866-283-1505

Perspectives web magazine is published by the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), a national alliance of provincial and territorial teacher organizations that represent over 238,000 elementary and secondary school teachers across Canada.

Editor In Chief: Francine Filion | Translation and Editing: Marie‑Caroline Uhel and Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Proofreading: Denise Léger
Graphic Design: Nathalie Hardy and Jean-Louis Lauriol | Web Design: Greg Edwards

Permission:
Requests for permission to reproduce any part of this publication for academic, professional, or commercial purposes should be sent to info@ctf-fce.ca. Articles and advertisements do not necessarily reflect the views of the CTF.

Comments: info@ctf-fce.ca

Numéro 13 | Mars 2014
Perspectives

Dans ce numéro

Qu’est-ce qu’une éducation de qualité?

Depuis quelques années, la question « Qu’est-ce qu’une éducation de qualité? » suscite des réponses très variées. Pour la présidente de la FCE, voici ce que devrait être une éducation de qualité. [+]

Au pays des aveugles

Le Meilleur des mondes de Huxley est là; et il l’est depuis quelque temps. Les citoyennes et citoyens sont surveillés, trompés et manipulés. [+]

Programme international de la FCE : Action enseignante pour l’apprentissage

La campagne « Uni(e)s pour l’éducation », lancée par l’Internationale de l’Éducation, a trouvé une résonance auprès du Programme international de la FCE. « C’est comme entendre un écho, un vibrant rappel de ce que la FCE s’efforce de faire depuis plus de 50 ans. » [+]

Le PISA? Parlons-en!

En moins de 20 ans, le Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA) de l’OCDE est devenu dans le monde entier l’outil par excellence d’évaluation des systèmes nationaux d’éducation. Cependant, un certain nombre de choses nous dérangent dans le PISA en général et le PISA de 2012 en particulier. [+]

Le Canadian Journal for Teacher Research

Ce nouveau magazine canadien consacré à la recherche pédagogique invite les organisations de l’enseignement et les enseignantes et enseignants à soumettre des articles ou des idées sur des sujets en rapport avec l’enseignement, dont la multilittératie. Découvrez les critères de soumission à l’adresse www.teacherresearch.ca/submissions/ (site en anglais seulement). [+]

Quand la loi et l’éducation se rencontrent : La négociation collective dans le milieu enseignant au Canada

Le programme politique néolibéral et l’idéologie de l’austérité que défendent les gouvernements font pression sur les syndicats du secteur public pour qu’ils cèdent un droit fondamental, celui de la négociation collective. Pour en savoir plus, étudiez cette revue pancanadienne des lois qui retirent aux enseignantes et enseignants leurs droits de négocier collectivement. [+]

La sensification… « Pourquoi on fait ça, madame? »

Dans les numéros antérieurs de Perspectives, nous avons présenté trois des quatre concepts interreliés sur lesquels repose la définition de la pédagogie à l’école de langue française (PELF) : la CONSCIENTISACTION, la DYNAMISATION et l’ACTUELISATION. Nous poursuivons avec le quatrième et dernier concept, la « SENSIFICATION ». [+]

Mais qu’avons-nous contre nos petits-enfants? (et même tous les enfants?)
Invitation à la réflexion pour les enseignantes et enseignants à la retraite ou près de l’être

Devraient-ils avoir les mêmes chances que nous d’atteindre la prospérité? Pourquoi craignons-nous tant un régime fiscal qui nous a permis de prospérer et de bénéficier d’un État providence? [+]

La vie en ligne : les élèves canadiens sont plus branchés, plus mobiles et plus « sociaux » que jamais

HabiloMédias a mené une enquête auprès de 5 436 étudiants pour se faire une meilleure idée de leurs expériences en ligne. Jeunes Canadiens dans un monde branché — Phase III : La vie en ligne a aussi soulevé de nombreuses autres questions. [+]

Suivez la FCE sur

Partagez ce numéro

Évènements

Ressources

Partenaires

Publication
Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants
2490, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 1E1
Tél. : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Ligne sans frais : 1-866-283-1505

Le magazine Web Perspectives est publié par la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE), une alliance nationale d’organisations provinciales et territoriales qui représentent plus de 273 000 enseignantes et enseignants des écoles élémentaires et secondaires au Canada.

Rédactrice en chef : Francine Filion | Traduction et révision : Marie‑Caroline Uhel et Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Correction d’épreuves : Denise Léger
Conception graphique : Nathalie Hardy et Jean-Louis Lauriol | Conception web : Greg Edwards

Reproduction
Toute demande de reproduction totale ou partielle de cette publication à des fins pédagogiques, professionnelles ou commerciales doit être adressée à [email protected]. Les articles et les publicités ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de la FCE.

Commentaires : [email protected]