Issue # 15 | October 2014
Perspectives

In this issue

Qualified teachers are essential to quality education for all

When I was little, my parents continually reminded me about the value of education.They taught my sister and me to be grateful for the opportunities we had to experience a high quality publicly-funded elementary and secondary education, and then to pursue post-secondary studies at a relatively low cost. [+]

On Point

CTF is currently doing a review and an alignment of its advocacy work to ensure it reflects the issues teachers want their organizations to speak out about on their behalf. Teachers have repeatedly, strongly and recently expressed their beliefs in the need for a forceful teacher voice on making life better for children. [+]

VOX 3.0 in motion

Issues related to the teaching profession, public education and the common good are key elements of VOX, the CTF National Advocacy Campaign in the months leading up to and well beyond the next federal election. The teacher voice is an important one to be heard for democracy. [+]

Parliament must speak for all Canadians

With the return of the contentious Bill C-377 in the Senate, CTF’s Bob McGahey describes how debate in the Canadian parliamentary system is not what it used to be. Can the Canadian public rely on fact-based discourse, intelligent, thoughtful discussion or well-reasoned responses to questions? You decide. [+]

After PELF

A first in the history of French-language education: CTF has introduced Francophone teachers to a major project that defines pedagogy in Francophone minority settings in Canada. It’s called PELF – Pédagogie à l’école de langue française - Pedagogy in French-language schools project – and it’s already receiving wave reviews by teachers. [+]

Finding the time and tools to teach about human rights

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights and CTF recently unveiled the Canadian Human Rights Toolkit, a new central hub of educational resources available at no charge to all K-12 teachers. Find out more on how teachers and students can benefit from this unique resource that supports human rights education. [+]

On Public Education and Social Justice

Historically speaking, the idea of recognizing and respecting the basic human rights of all people, as they are entrenched in international human rights instruments such as the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, is relatively new. CTF Researcher Bernie Froese-Germain draws from the recent CTF President’s Forum to explain more. [+]

Poverty, what is it? A discussion booklet for students in Grades 5 to 8

This new teacher resource was developed as a supporting tool for the CARE Theme of Imagineaction and to complement the Keep the Promise campaign. As the education partner in this ongoing social justice campaign, CTF knows that both student interest and the development of their social identities grow from their connections to family, school, and community. [+]

Work-life balance: teachers identify four key areas

Since the release of the online survey results in May, CTF Researcher Rick Riel has further mined the data to examine the four priority areas identified by over 8,000 teachers that would improve their work-life balance and enable them to become a more effective teacher. [+]

Project Overseas 2014 – Uganda: Challenged, Changed, Cherished

Angela Marr, member of the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association was one of 50 participants who took part in CTF’s Project Overseas last summer. Here is her story which was first published in the NBTA News. [+]

Exploring Body Image Issues in the Classroom

In this article, Heather Thomson, member of the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario explains how research continues to show that girls and boys are engaging in self-harming behaviours such as food restriction/dieting, excessive exercising, etc. at earlier ages; and that poor body image in youth can result in avoidance of many academic, social and economic opportunities. [+]

Follow CTF on

Share this issue

Events

Media Literacy Week
EI World Congress
International Human Rights Day
Project Overseas

Resources

Hear My Voice
Pédagogie à l'école de langue française (PELF)
Poverty, What is it?
Human Rights Toolkit
Faire le Point
Keep the Promise

Partners

Rose Campaign
Publication:
Canadian Teachers’ Federation
2490 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 1E1
Tel : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Toll Free : 1-866-283-1505

Perspectives e-publication is published by the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), a national alliance of provincial and territorial teacher organizations that represent nearly 200,000 elementary and secondary school teachers across Canada.

Editor In Chief: Francine Filion | Translation: Marie-Caroline Uhel and Marie-Hélène Larrue
Graphic Design: Nathalie Hardy and Athina Lavoie | Web Design: Greg Edwards and Patrick Jean

Permission:
Requests for permission to reproduce any part of this publication for academic, professional, or commercial purposes should be sent to: info@ctf-fce.ca. Articles and advertisements do not necessarily reflect the views of the CTF.

Comments: info@ctf-fce.ca

Numéro 15 | Octobre 2014
Perspectives

Dans ce numéro

Des enseignantes et enseignants qualifiés sont essentiels à une éducation universelle de qualité

Quand j’étais petite, mes parents me rappelaient continuellement la valeur de l’éducation. Ils nous ont appris, à ma sœur et moi, à reconnaitre la chance que nous avions de recevoir une éducation élémentaire et secondaire de qualité, financée par l’État, et de pouvoir faire des études postsecondaires à un cout relativement bas. [+]

L’heure des bilans

La FCE procède actuellement à un examen et à une réorganisation de son travail d’action politique pour s’assurer qu’il reprend fidèlement les grandes questions dont les enseignantes et enseignants désirent que leurs organisations parlent en leur nom. Les enseignantes et enseignants ont souvent indiqué, avec force conviction, et ils l’ont encore fait tout récemment, à quel point il importe que le personnel enseignant ait une voix forte pour améliorer la vie des enfants. [+]

VOX 3.0, c’est parti!

Les questions touchant la profession enseignante, l’éducation publique et le bien commun sont au cœur de VOX, la campagne nationale d’action politique que la FCE mènera au cours des mois précédant la prochaine élection fédérale et bien après. La voix si importante du personnel enseignant doit se faire entendre dans l’intérêt de la démocratie. [+]

Le Parlement doit parler au nom de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes

Avec le retour du controversé projet de loi C-377 au Sénat, Bob McGahey de la FCE montre à quel point, dans le régime parlementaire canadien, le débat a changé. La population canadienne peut-elle encore compter sur un discours fondé sur les faits, une discussion réfléchie et intelligente, ou des réponses bien pensées aux questions posées? À vous de voir! [+]

L’après-PELF

Une première dans l’histoire de l’éducation en langue française : la FCE a présenté aux enseignants et enseignantes de langue française un projet d’envergure qui propose une pédagogie pour le contexte minoritaire francophone au Canada. Connu sous le nom de Pédagogie à l’école de langue française (PELF), le projet fait déjà de nombreux adeptes parmi le personnel enseignant. [+]

Trouver le temps et les outils nécessaires pour enseigner les droits de la personne

Le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne et la FCE ont procédé récemment au dévoilement de la Trousse canadienne sur les droits de la personne, une nouvelle plateforme de ressources éducatives offerte gratuitement à tous les enseignants et enseignantes de la maternelle à la 12e année. Apprenez comment faire profiter les enseignants et enseignantes, de même que leurs élèves, de cette ressource unique en son genre qui appuie l’enseignement des droits de la personne. [+]

L’éducation publique et la justice sociale

Historiquement, l’idée de reconnaitre et de respecter les droits fondamentaux des personnes, tels qu’ils sont enchâssés dans les instruments internationaux comme la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme et la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, est relativement nouvelle. Bernie Froese-Germain, recherchiste de la FCE, s’inspire des présentations faites au récent Forum de la présidente de la FCE pour pousser la réflexion. [+]

La pauvreté, qu’est-ce que c’est? Cahier de discussion pour les élèves de la 5e à la 8e année

Cette nouvelle ressource pédagogique a été conçue dans l’optique du thème COMPATIR du programme Imagineaction et pour appuyer la campagne Tenir la promesse. En tant que partenaire spécialiste de l’éducation de cette campagne pour la justice sociale, la FCE sait que l’intérêt des élèves et leur identité sociale se nourrissent des liens que ceux-ci entretiennent avec leur famille, leur école et leur communauté. [+]

L’équilibre travail-vie : les enseignants et enseignantes disent quelles sont les quatre mesures à prendre en priorité

Depuis la diffusion en mai dernier des résultats d’un sondage en ligne, le recherchiste de la FCE Rick Riel a poursuivi son analyse des données pour cerner les quatre mesures à prendre en priorité, selon plus de 8 000 enseignantes et enseignants, pour améliorer leur équilibre travail-vie et les aider à devenir plus efficaces. [+]

Le Projet outre-mer 2014 en Ouganda : Un défi, un changement, une expérience inoubliable

Angela Marr, membre de la New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA), est l’une des 50 bénévoles qui ont participé au Projet outre-mer de la FCE l’été dernier. Voici le récit qu’elle en a fait, tel qu’il est paru dans le magazine NBTA News. [+]

Explorer la problématique de l’image corporelle en classe

Dans cet article, Heather Thomson, membre de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’élémentaire de l’Ontario, explique que, d’après les études, les filles et les garçons qui adoptent des comportements autodestructeurs, comme la restriction alimentaire (régime) ou l’exercice excessif, le font à un âge de plus en plus précoce. Elle montre aussi que les jeunes qui ont une image négative de leur corps peuvent en venir à éviter une foule d’activités scolaires et sociales, et à fermer la porte à des possibilités d’épanouissement. [+]

Suivez la FCE sur

Partagez ce numéro

Évènements

Ressources

Partenaires

Publication
Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants
2490, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 1E1
Tél. : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Ligne sans frais : 1-866-283-1505

Le magazine Web Perspectives est publié par la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE), une alliance nationale d’organisations provinciales et territoriales qui représentent plus de 273 000 enseignantes et enseignants des écoles élémentaires et secondaires au Canada.

Rédactrice en chef : Francine Filion | Traduction et révision : Marie‑Caroline Uhel et Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Correction d’épreuves : Denise Léger
Conception graphique : Nathalie Hardy et Jean-Louis Lauriol | Conception web : Greg Edwards

Reproduction
Toute demande de reproduction totale ou partielle de cette publication à des fins pédagogiques, professionnelles ou commerciales doit être adressée à [email protected]. Les articles et les publicités ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de la FCE.

Commentaires : [email protected]