Issue # 16 | March 2015
Perspectives

In this issue

Corporate intrusion in public education

Over the past 15 years or so, the burgeoning influence and activity of education corporations and other businesses in schools and on education policy has become a crucial conversation in the sphere of public education around the world. More on corporate intrusion in public education. [+]

Vision for 2020

In her first message as Secretary General, Cassandra Hallett DaSilva explains the PATH for the Canadian Teachers’ Federation’s strategic plan which will lead the federation’s to its 100th anniversary in 2020. [+]

Our Canada. Our Students. Our Profession.
The importance of raising our teacher voice in this federal election

In this coming federal election and beyond, teachers can give voice to their students’ needs through the CTF campaign "Hear My Voice ". Many of the issues that affect teaching and learning in schools are connected to federal jurisdiction. Teachers can raise their voices for child and youth mental health and child poverty. [+]

Reflections on Camp Vox: The art and science of political campaigning

In early October 2014, CTF hosted Camp VOX, a three-day political advocacy training event designed for staff and elected officials of its Member organizations, Associate and Affiliate Members. Ian Pettigrew of the Ontario Teachers’ Federation reflects on his personal experience at Camp VOX. [+]

Walking the talk – Reducing the stigma of mental illness in the elementary classroom

Too often, teachers are left to their own device on how to help children with a wide range of learning disabilities and mental health issues. Ron Muller, member of CTF’s Advisory Committee on Diversity and Human Rights, describes his own experience in starting “courageous” conversations with his students in the classroom about mental health. [+]

Cuts in student enrolment in Ontario’s faculties of education are jeopardizing the quality of French-language education in minority settings in Canada

Given student enrolment cuts in faculties of education, Carol Jolin, President of the Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO), explains how these measures are jeopardizing the quality of French-language education in minority settings in Canada. [+]

Vignette: One person’s learning is another one’s joy

Who never experienced the situation, as an Anglophone or a Francophone, where French-speakers outnumbered English-speakers, but people spoke English nonetheless? Why does this happen? [+]

International Women’s Day, an important one for teachers

March 8th is celebrated around the world to celebrate women’s achievements and to mobilize for gender equality. In her article, Shelley Morse, President of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union and CTF VP responsible for the Federation’s Advisory Committee on the Status of Women, describes teacher organizations’ role in advocating for women. [+]

Little progress on gender equity in Canada

The Canadian Teachers’ Federation was among several civil society, academic, Aboriginal and human rights organizations that contributed to a recent report published by the Canadian Center for Policy Alternatives (CCPA) which documents Canada’s progress towards gender equity over the past five years. [+]

Ebola crisis in Africa: how Canadian teachers are making a difference

Find out how the actions of teacher organizations overseas, supported by Canadian teachers and their organizations, are having an impact in alleviating the effects of Ebola-stricken countries. [+]

Canadian students raise their voices about child poverty

Last November, 55 students and 30 teachers came together in Ottawa for two days to participate in a Student Summit to support the Keep the Promise anti-poverty campaign. Find out what teachers had to say about their experience. [+]

Improving school climate through disability awareness programs

Disability Awareness Programs are at the heart of this article submitted by the Rick Hansen School Program. It explains how a positive climate that emphasizes high expectations for caring relationships and respectful interactions plays a key role in academic success. [+]

Follow CTF on

Share this issue

Events

Resources

Partners

Publication:
Canadian Teachers’ Federation
2490 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 1E1
Tel : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Toll Free : 1-866-283-1505

Perspectives e-publication is published by the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), a national alliance of provincial and territorial teacher organizations that represent nearly 200,000 elementary and secondary school teachers across Canada.

Editor In Chief: Francine Filion | Translation: Marie-Caroline Uhel and Marie-Hélène Larrue
Graphic Design: Nathalie Hardy and Athina Lavoie | Web Design: Greg Edwards and Patrick Jean

Permission:
Requests for permission to reproduce any part of this publication for academic, professional, or commercial purposes should be sent to: info@ctf-fce.ca. Articles and advertisements do not necessarily reflect the views of the CTF.

Comments: info@ctf-fce.ca

Numéro 16 | Mars 2015
Perspectives

Dans ce numéro

L’intrusion des entreprises dans l’éducation publique

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, l’influence et les interventions grandissantes des entreprises éducatives et autres dans les écoles et auprès des décisionnaires sont devenues un sujet crucial de discussion dans les milieux de l’éducation publique du monde entier. Plus sur l’intrusion des entreprises dans l’éducation publique. [+]

Vision pour 2020

Dans son tout premier message comme secrétaire générale, Cassandra Hallett explique le PARCOURS du plan stratégique de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants qui guidera celle-ci jusqu’à l’horizon de 2020, année de son centenaire. [+]

Notre pays. Nos élèves. Notre profession.
L’importance de faire entendre nos voix comme enseignantes et enseignants pendant la campagne électorale fédérale

Durant la prochaine campagne électorale et au-delà, les enseignantes et enseignants pourront faire entendre leurs voix sur les besoins des élèves dans le cadre de la campagne « Écoutez ma voix » de la FCE. Un grand nombre des dossiers qui ont des répercussions sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage dans les écoles sont de compétence fédérale. Le personnel enseignant peut élever la voix à la défense de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, et contre la pauvreté chez les enfants. [+]

Réflexion sur le Camp VOX : L’art et la science des campagnes d’action politique

Au début d’octobre 2014, la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants a été l’hôte du Camp VOX, un atelier de formation de trois jours sur l’action politique à l’intention des membres du personnel et des représentantes et représentants élus de ses organisations Membres, Membres affiliés et Membres associés. Ian Pettigrew, de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario, parle de ce qu’il a vécu au Camp VOX. [+]

Réduire la stigmatisation associée à la maladie mentale à l’élémentaire : une affaire d’exemple

Trop souvent, le personnel enseignant ne peut compter que sur lui-même pour trouver comment aider des enfants aux difficultés d’apprentissage et aux problèmes de santé mentale aussi variés que ceux qu’on retrouve en salle de classe. Ron Muller, membre du Comité consultatif de la diversité et des droits de la personne de la FCE, décrit son expérience et explique les discussions « courageuses » qu’il a avec ses élèves en salle de classe sur la santé mentale. [+]

La compression des effectifs dans les facultés d’éducation en Ontario met à risque la qualité de l’éducation francophone en milieu minoritaire au Canada

En vue des compressions des effectifs des facultés d’éducation, Carol Jolin, président de l’Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO), explique comment ces mesures mettent à risque la qualité de l’éducation francophone en milieu minoritaire au Canada. [+]

Billet : L’apprentissage des uns fait le bonheur des autres

Qui n’a pas déjà vécu l’expérience, comme anglophone ou francophone, de se retrouver dans un contexte dominé par des parlants français, mais où on parle anglais? Pourquoi? [+]

La Journée internationale de la femme, une date importante pour le monde de l’enseignement

Célébrée dans le monde entier, cette journée du 8 mars est l’occasion de rappeler les réalisations des femmes et de se mobiliser pour l’égalité entre les sexes. Dans son article, Shelley Morse, présidente du Nova Scotia Teachers Union et vice-présidente de la FCE responsable du Comité consultatif de la condition feminine, décrit le rôle des organisations de l’enseignement dans la défense des droits des femmes. [+]

Peu de progrès en matière d’équité entre les sexes au Canada

La Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants s’est jointe à plusieurs organisations de la société civile, des milieux universitaires, du monde autochtone ainsi qu’à des groupes de défense des droits de la personne pour contribuer à l’élaboration d’un rapport récemment publié par le Centre canadien de politiques alternatives (CCPA), qui fait le point sur les progrès réalisés par le Canada au chapitre de l’équité entre les sexes depuis les cinq dernières années. [+]

La crise d’Ebola en Afrique : Ce que les enseignantes et enseignants canadiens font pour aider

Découvrez ce que font des organisations de l’enseignement outre-mer, appuyées par des enseignants et enseignantes du Canada et leurs organisations, pour amortir les effets de la crise dans les pays africains affectés par Ebola. [+]

Les élèves du Canada dénoncent la pauvreté chez les enfants

En novembre dernier, 55 élèves et 30 enseignantes et enseignants se sont réunis deux jours à Ottawa pour participer au Sommet national des élèves et soutenir la campagne de lutte contre la pauvreté Tenir la promesse. Découvrez ce que les enseignants et enseignantes ont dit de leur expérience. [+]

Améliorer le climat scolaire grâce à des programmes de sensibilisation aux handicaps

Les programmes scolaires de sensibilisation aux handicaps sont à la base de cet article soumis par l’organisation Programme scolaire Rick Hansen. Celle-ci y explique le rôle essentiel que joue, dans la réussite scolaire, un climat positif qui valorise les relations bienveillantes et les interactions respectueuses. [+]

Suivez la FCE sur

Partagez ce numéro

Évènements

Ressources

Partenaires

Publication
Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants
2490, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 1E1
Tél. : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Ligne sans frais : 1-866-283-1505

Le magazine Web Perspectives est publié par la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE), une alliance nationale d’organisations provinciales et territoriales qui représentent plus de 273 000 enseignantes et enseignants des écoles élémentaires et secondaires au Canada.

Rédactrice en chef : Francine Filion | Traduction et révision : Marie‑Caroline Uhel et Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Correction d’épreuves : Denise Léger
Conception graphique : Nathalie Hardy et Jean-Louis Lauriol | Conception web : Greg Edwards

Reproduction
Toute demande de reproduction totale ou partielle de cette publication à des fins pédagogiques, professionnelles ou commerciales doit être adressée à [email protected]. Les articles et les publicités ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de la FCE.

Commentaires : [email protected]