Issue # 26 | November 2017
Perspectives

In this issue

“Made in Canada” education privatization

Edu-business is a term used to describe the multi-trillion dollar education market. According to Edudemic, a pro-tech in education website, the industry is “not only huge; it’s undergoing more changes recently than it has at possibly at any other point in history. Startups are sprouting to fill in gaps and create new technologies to service this increasingly lucrative field.” [+]

How do you want your child’s education – personalized or standardized?
How having the conversation changes the conversation

In July 2017, over 100 teachers, union leaders, and others interested in publicly funded public education gathered together at the Canadian Forum on Public Education, an annual event of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) aimed at increasing the breadth, depth, and reach of dialogue about teaching and learning in order to inform and contribute to continuous systemic improvements so that all children and youth have access to quality publicly funded public education. [+]

Global trends impacting our work to ensure free, equitable, quality, inclusive education

The global trends that are impacting our work to ensure free, equitable, quality and inclusive education can be reversed, suggests David Edwards, Deputy Secretary General of Education International. [+]

Students before profit: A global response to education privatization

“Students Before Profit” – the theme of the 2017 Canadian Forum on Public Education, held in Ottawa in July, brought together teachers and teacher leaders as well as representatives from school boards, government and NGOs to discuss issues related to the impact of privatization in/of public education, both globally and here in Canada. [+]

French-speaking civil society mobilizes against commodification of education

The last decade has seen unprecedented growth in the number of private schools, especially in low-income countries. This growth is so robust that it is threatening to bring about profound change in very fragile educational systems. [+]

Education International responds to the Global Education Monitoring Report on accountability

The Report is a major step forward in reflecting both the realities of the teaching profession and the harmful effects that test-based accountability and merit pay have had on education systems and the profession. [+]

Follow CTF on

Share this issue

Events

Resources

Partners

Publication:
Canadian Teachers’ Federation
2490 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 1E1
Tel: 613-232-1505
Fax: 613-232-1886
Toll Free: 1-866-283-1505

Perspectives web magazine is published by the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), a national alliance of provincial and territorial teacher organizations that represent over 238,000 elementary and secondary school teachers across Canada.

Editor In Chief: Francine Filion | Translation and Editing: Marie‑Caroline Uhel and Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Proofreading: Denise Léger
Graphic Design: Nathalie Hardy and Athina Lavoie | Web Design: Greg Edwards

Permission:
Requests for permission to reproduce any part of this publication for academic, professional, or commercial purposes should be sent to info@ctf-fce.ca. Articles and advertisements do not necessarily reflect the views of the CTF.

Comments: info@ctf-fce.ca

Numéro 26 | Novembre 2017
Perspectives

Dans ce numéro

La privatisation de l’éducation « fabriquée au Canada »

L’éducation représente un marché de plusieurs billions de dollars. D’après Edudemic, un site Web qui fait la promotion des technologies en éducation, ce marché n’est [traduction libre] « pas seulement énorme; il a récemment connu plus de changements que jamais auparavant. De jeunes entreprises poussent pour combler des lacunes et créer de nouvelles technologies au service de ce secteur de plus en plus lucratif. » [+]

Quelle sorte d’éducation voulez‑vous pour votre enfant, personnalisée ou standardisée?
La discussion qui change la discussion

En juillet 2017, plus d’une centaine d’enseignantes et enseignants, de représentantes et représentants syndicaux et d’autres personnes qui s’intéressent à l’éducation publique financée par l’État se sont retrouvés au Forum canadien sur l’éducation publique. Cet évènement annuel de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE) a pour but d’élargir et d’approfondir le dialogue sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage, et d’en accroître la portée afin de contribuer à l’amélioration continue du système pour que tous les enfants et tous les jeunes aient accès à une éducation publique de qualité, financée par l’État. [+]

Les tendances mondiales et leurs répercussions sur le travail que nous accomplissons en faveur d’une éducation gratuite, équitable, inclusive et de qualité

Les tendances qui se manifestent à l’échelle mondiale et qui entravent nos efforts pour assurer un accès gratuit et équitable à une éducation inclusive de qualité peuvent être renversées, affirme David Edwards, secrétaire général adjoint de l’Internationale de l’Éducation. [+]

L’éducation avant les profits : Un mouvement mondial de réponse à la privatisation de l’éducation

Sur le thème « L’éducation avant les profits », le Forum canadien sur l’éducation publique de 2017, qui s’est tenu en juillet à Ottawa, a réuni des membres du corps enseignant, des porte-paroles de la profession de même que des représentantes et représentants de conseils et commissions scolaires, d’administrations publiques et d’organisations non gouvernementales pour qu’ils discutent de l’incidence de la privatisation de l’éducation publique au Canada et dans le monde. [+]

La société civile francophone se mobilise contre la marchandisation de l’éducation

La dernière décennie a été marquée par une croissance sans précédent des écoles privées, notamment dans les pays à faibles revenus. Cette croissance est si importante qu’elle est sur le point de transformer en profondeur des systèmes éducatifs très fragiles. [+]

Réponse de l’Internationale de l’Éducation au Rapport mondial de suivi sur l’éducation, dédié à la reddition des comptes

Nouvelle avancée majeure pour l’éducation, ce rapport fait état des réalités de la profession enseignante et dresse le bilan des effets dommageables qu’ont eus sur la profession et les systèmes d’éducation la reddition des comptes basée sur les tests et la rémunération au mérite. [+]

Suivez la FCE sur

Partagez ce numéro

Évènements

Ressources

Partenaires

Publication
Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants
2490, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa ON K1H 1E1
Tél. : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Ligne sans frais : 1-866-283-1505

Le magazine Web Perspectives est publié par la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE), une alliance nationale d’organisations provinciales et territoriales qui représentent plus de 238 000 enseignantes et enseignants des paliers élémentaire et secondaire au Canada.

Rédactrice en chef : Francine Filion | Traduction et révision : Marie‑Caroline Uhel et Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Correction d’épreuves : Denise Léger
Conception graphique : Nathalie Hardy et Athina Lavoie | Conception web : Greg Edwards

Reproduction
Toute demande de reproduction totale ou partielle de cette publication à des fins pédagogiques, professionnelles ou commerciales doit être adressée à info@ctf-fce.ca. Les articles et les publicités ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de la FCE.

Commentaires : info@ctf-fce.ca