Issue # 5 | November 2011
Perspectives

In this issue

The Canadian teachers’ voice on the international scene

As head of the Canadian delegation attending Education International’s (EI) World Congress in South Africa last July, I was struck by the similarities that Canadian teachers have with teachers from around the globe. We are all faced with enormous challenges. The global financial crisis has had…. [+]

Quality in; quality out

A group of us at the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) recently had the opportunity to sit down with a group of teacher leaders from the United States. Our topic of discussion over three days was, “What is it that causes Canada to be regarded by the international community as a success in the delivery of high quality public education?” The session was eye opening for us all. All of us had… [+]

Teacher voice in political activism

Within a five-week period this fall, voters in the Northwest Territories (Oct. 3), Prince Edward Island (Oct. 3), Manitoba (Oct. 4), Ontario (Oct. 6), Newfoundland and Labrador (Oct. 11), Yukon (Oct. 11) and Saskatchewan (Nov. 7) went to the polls.  Since education is a provincial and territorial responsibility, it comes as no surprise that teacher organizations flexed their political muscle to… [+]

It's MyWorld (but welcome to it): New online tutorial teaches digital literacy skills to secondary students

Popular views of young people’s Internet use tend to fall into one of two camps: either teens are “digital natives”, so far ahead of their “immigrant” parents and teachers that they have nothing to learn, or they are innocents abroad in a worldwide red light district, sending “sexts” to predators, and posting photos of last night's [+]

Connecting to citizenship

What do flash mobs, online petitions and Facebook have in common? For the Canadian Teachers’ Federation, they are all ways Canadians can express their views in a modern democracy. And the Canadian Teachers’ Federation is making sure Canada’s students learn to exercise this powerful democratic tool effectively and….
[+]

The Voice of Canadian Teachers on Teaching and Learning

This national research project was conducted by the CTF in collaboration with its Member teacher organizations. The intent of the project is to expose the voice of teachers concerning their perspectives on teaching and learning in Canada’s public schools, drawing on the substantial pool of experience, expertise and knowledge they possess, with a view to informing and influencing education policy decisions to enhance the quality… [+]

The Power of Project Overseas

When 12 Canadian Team Leaders from Project Overseas 2011 attended their debriefing in Ottawa at the end of September, they were eager to share vignettes that backed up comments from overseas teacher participants. Their summer experiences echo the importance of child-centred [+]

“It’s a basic human right of children and youth”i

Every once in a while, you hear, see or experience something that reminds you that all is not as it should be. As classroom teachers, we may be unaware of the statistics, we may get caught up in the standardization agenda, and we may sometimes lose sight of the human… [+]

TECHNOLOGY in French-language schools

Technology is changing constantly and rapidly. The results of a pan-Canadian survey on the use of technology by French-language school students shed light on this aspect of young people’s social context. This survey shows that young Francophones interact extensively with technology, but… [+]

Museums and Schools Partnership Award

Each year, the Canadian Museums Association (CMA), in collaboration with the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), presents the Museums and Schools Partnership Award to celebrate and encourage excellence in collaborative projects or initiatives between Canadian museums and schools, school boards or districts. By collaborating in developing educational… [+]

A Sizable Issue: Reducing class size matters

The fallout from education funding shortfalls has parents, teachers and trustees concerned about possible increases in class size. [+]

Public water for sale

(Précis of an article published in French in the magazine ”Quoi de neuf” published by the Association des retraitées et retraités de l’éducation et des autres services publics du Québec) [+]

Follow CTF on

Share this issue

Events

Resources

Partners

Publication:
Canadian Teachers’ Federation
2490 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 1E1
Tel: 613-232-1505
Fax: 613-232-1886
Toll Free: 1-866-283-1505

Perspectives web magazine is published by the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), a national alliance of provincial and territorial teacher organizations that represent over 238,000 elementary and secondary school teachers across Canada.

Editor In Chief: Francine Filion | Translation and Editing: Marie‑Caroline Uhel and Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Proofreading: Denise Léger
Graphic Design: Nathalie Hardy and Jean-Louis Lauriol | Web Design: Greg Edwards

Permission:
Requests for permission to reproduce any part of this publication for academic, professional, or commercial purposes should be sent to info@ctf-fce.ca. Articles and advertisements do not necessarily reflect the views of the CTF.

Comments: info@ctf-fce.ca

Numéro 5 | Novembre 2011
Perspectives

Dans ce numéro

La voix du personnel enseignant canadien sur la scène internationale

En tant que chef de la délégation canadienne au Congrès mondial de l'Internationale de l'Éducation (IE) qui a eu lieu en Afrique du Sud en juillet dernier, j’ai été frappé par les similitudes qui existent entre le personnel enseignant canadien et les enseignantes et enseignants du monde entier. Nous avons tous et toutes d’énormes défis à relever. La crise financière mondiale a eu… [+]

La qualité : une constante

Un groupe de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE) a récemment eu l’occasion de se réunir avec un groupe de porte-paroles de la profession enseignante des États Unis. Pendant trois jours, nous avons discuté des facteurs qui expliquent que le Canada soit considéré par la communauté internationale comme un exemple… [+]

La voix du personnel enseignant dans le militantisme politique

En l’espace de cinq semaines cet automne, les électeurs et électrices des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (3 octobre), de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (3 octobre), du Manitoba (4 octobre), de l’Ontario (6 octobre), de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (11 octobre), du Yukon (11 octobre) et de la Saskatchewan (7 novembre) se sont rendus aux urnes. Comme l’éducation est une responsabilité provinciale et territoriale, il n’est pas étonnant que les… [+]

C’est MonUnivers (bienvenue chez moi) : Nouveau tutoriel interactif de littératie numérique destiné aux élèves du secondaire

Selon la croyance populaire, les jeunes internautes se retrouvent dans l’une ou l’autre de ces deux catégories : issus de la génération du numérique, ils ont « ça dans le sang » et ils sont tellement plus à l’aise dans cet univers que leurs parents et leurs enseignants – les « immigrés » du numérique – qu’on ne peut rien leur apprendre en la [+]

Connexion à la citoyenneté

Qu’ont en commun les rassemblements éclair, les pétitions en ligne et Facebook? Pour la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE), ce sont tous des moyens permettant aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens d’exprimer leurs opinions dans une démocratie moderne. Et la FCE voit à ce que les élèves du Canada apprennent à utiliser ces outils démocratiques puissants de façon efficace et…
[+]

La voix du personnel enseignant canadien sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage

Ce projet de recherche national est une initiative commune de la FCE et de ses organisations Membres. Il a pour but d’exposer les perspectives de la profession enseignante sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage dans les écoles publiques du Canada en misant sur le riche fonds d’expérience, d’expertise et de savoir qu’elle possède, dans le but de guider et d’influencer les décisions stratégiques en éducation et d’améliorer ainsi la qualité… [+]

Le pouvoir du Projet outre-mer

C’est avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme que 12 chefs d’équipe canadiens du Projet outre-mer de 2011 ont profité de leur séance de compte rendu, à Ottawa, fin septembre, pour se raconter des anecdotes illustrant les commentaires des enseignantes et enseignants participants à l’étranger. Leur expérience estivale confirme l’importance de la méthodologie centrée [+]

C’est un droit fondamental des enfants et des jeunesi

De temps à autre, vous entendez, voyez ou vivez quelque chose qui vous rappelle que tout n’est pas parfait. En tant qu’enseignantes et enseignants en classe, nous ne sommes peut-être pas toujours au courant des statistiques, nous sommes dans… [+]

TECHNOLOGIES à l’école de langue française

Le domaine des technologies est en constante évolution et change rapidement. Les résultats d’un sondage pancanadien sur l’utilisation des technologies par les élèves des écoles de langue française apportent une lumière sur cet aspect du contexte social des… [+]

Prix du partenariat musées-écoles

L’Association des musées canadiens (AMC), en collaboration avec la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants, décerne annuellement le Prix du partenariat musées-écoles qui récompense et encourage les projets ou les initiatives de collaboration entre des musées canadiens et des écoles ou des commissions scolaires. En s’associant pour développer… [+]

Réduire l’effectif des classes : un enjeu de taille

En Alberta, plusieurs craignent qu’un financement insuffisant de l’éducation n’entraine l’augmentation de l’effectif des classes et, par conséquent, la détérioration de l’apprentissage. En 2010-2011, soit avant les compressions, certaines écoles secondaires de Calgary comptaient déjà près de 40 élèves par classe. Cette année, la perte d’environ 1 000 postes d’enseignement dans la province fera augmenter ce nombre, tandis que la composition, la diversité et la complexité de la population scolaire continueront d’évoluer. [+]

Eau publique à vendre

Ce texte a été initialement publié dans le magazine de l'AREQ, Quoi de neuf  de juin-juillet 2011, sous la plume de Normand Périgny. [+]

Suivez la FCE sur

Partagez ce numéro

Évènements

Ressources

Partenaires

Publication
Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants
2490, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 1E1
Tél. : 613-232-1505
Fax : 613-232-1886
Ligne sans frais : 1-866-283-1505

Le magazine Web Perspectives est publié par la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE), une alliance nationale d’organisations provinciales et territoriales qui représentent plus de 273 000 enseignantes et enseignants des écoles élémentaires et secondaires au Canada.

Rédactrice en chef : Francine Filion | Traduction et révision : Marie‑Caroline Uhel et Marie‑Hélène Larrue
Correction d’épreuves : Denise Léger
Conception graphique : Nathalie Hardy et Jean-Louis Lauriol | Conception web : Greg Edwards

Reproduction
Toute demande de reproduction totale ou partielle de cette publication à des fins pédagogiques, professionnelles ou commerciales doit être adressée à [email protected]. Les articles et les publicités ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de la FCE.

Commentaires : [email protected]